How to get yourself out there

Been looking recently at the whole area of self-promotion. Part of being creative, for me, is the getting what you have created out to the world. I also work in the publishing world where traditional  methods of marketing are both used and questioned. A traditional marketing process would be as follows:

  1. identify target markets
  2. market research
  3. product development
  4. marketing mix – product, price, place, promotion
  5. monitoring

In the particular publishing environment I work in there are a couple of issues with this process and some similar issues are found in what I am doing in my own creative environment.

This is partly due to the fact that when being ‘creative’ the first step is step 3. Creativity starts with the creation. Therefore, as I begin to look at promoting myself and the ‘art’ I create I will be using a 3,1,2,4,5 process.

Now I am off to create something!

Leave a Reply

