I can do the 80s now

When I bought John Foxx’s The Garden I was both happy and sad. The happiness came from an admiration and love of the songs. But my sadness was because there was something missing from this his second solo release. His first, Metamatic, was a unique futuristic album that captured the sparse, urban, digital world we had entered, it was 1980.

Ironically the sound that was missing, as I later worked out, was a drum machine. The Garden, whilst using drum machines had moved into the realm where the aim was to make it sound like a real drummer. And the irony was, it was an analogue sound that had made Metamatic sound so wonderful. Anyway, I have found myself a VST instrument to play with. Yes a CR78 drum machine VST, which, I’m pretty sure was used on Metamatic and certainly on other futuristic albums of the time… and for those who aren’t familiar with Metamatic just think of the opening beats of Enola Gay by Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark and you’ll know what I am talking about.

CR78 drum machine

Leave a Reply

