First page of my altered book

Altered prayer book

I have begun to alter a book. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for ages and as I was about to get rid of one particular book I thought, hey why not try to alter it first. It is an old Common Prayer book and so the theme of the alter will be to make an Altered Prayer Book. As you can see it isn’t rocket science. Here is the first page I’ve done so far, and it is very basic… baby steps for a first attempt.

First page of my altered book

Let's change the words

I’m not sure where the rest of the book will go and I suppose I should do a little research on altered book ideas and thoughts. But I wanted to start and as starting is so often the hardest part for me, I’m not doing too bad.

So If anyone has any altered book sites to recommend please let me know in the comments and I’ll be sure to check them out.

2 thoughts on “Altered prayer book

  1. So “what’s the thing” of this? Is it making a new physical art object–i.e., the strictly visual experience, like viewing a photo or painting–by the alterations you make? Or is it meant to be a new word creation by what you’re redacting, whether prose or verse? Is it some kind of statement for or against organized religion? For me, these few questions add more interest to the act of altering, so I thought I’d ask. And as a book designer, well … I suppose I shudder that something like that might be in someone’s mind when looking at a book I helped create (which is not a judgment on your effort, just something I was surprised to have felt).

Leave a Reply

