A creative drought?

The last couple of months have been an emotional and physical roller-coaster. I have changed employment after working with one organisation for over 16 years. I have taken on a part-time role and have started my own business. And finally I have moved back to using a Mac after 16 years too.

The upheaval led to me dropping out of NaNoWriMo as I had to focus on what was happening. It seems that it wasn’t just writing that has taken a creative backseat. The time that I have been able to give to my other favourite creative endeavour (songwriting) has also been non-existent.

It is easy to underestimate how external circumstances affect creativity.

  • Why can’t I write?
  • Why is this song not working out?

Far too often we look for solutions in the wrong place.

  • Perhaps I need that new piece of software
  • If I just spend more time banging away at the keyboard

Sometimes there is no solution. Sometimes there is so much going on in our lives that we need to sit back, deal with those issues and then, when the time is right, return to our creative journey.

Of course, many emotional roller-coaster rides provide the source for creativity. So get ready, for when the drought breaks…

Leave a Reply

