Ukulele love songs taking shape

Here’s the first update with regard to the collection of songs that I will make available by the end of September. Things are going well and I have already got 6 songs in various stages of completion. A couple are almost ready for recording and I will start that aspect of the process as soon as possible.

All the songs have originated while strumming and jamming on the ukulele and, having made the decision, the lyrics will all be love related, or love songs as we say in the trade. As I am writing the songs I am also writing background, or commentary, notes on them. A sort of cathartic process that charts the angst ridden existence of the singer songwriter – ha. Well at least they may be of interest to anyone listening to them.

Some of the songs have been around for a while, but it is only now that they are really taking shape and becoming real pieces of music.

One thing that I am pondering is how ukulele based the final versions will be. I don’t want to restrict the songs and so I am wondering how far I can go with adding other instruments, or even not having the ukulele on the final version at all. I think that may be a step too far, although it may make for some interesting bonus versions.

I mentioned before that the inspiration for this came from Gal Musette, who was in turn was inspired by The Magnetic Fields. I managed to buy the Magnetic Fields’ CD, 69 Love Songs, the other day. I don’t think I’ll get anywhere near 69 songs, but 6 is a good start.

Leave a Reply

